Punchinello’s Chronicles

March 26, 2009

Night of the Worms!

Filed under: Wacky News — Punchinello @ 2:35 am
Tags: , ,

Hey, this is a blog, right? And I get to rant and rave about whatever happens to be on my mind. Alright, at the moment it happens to be worms!

Last night it rained. Not a whole lot, but a fair amount. It’s been a long, cold winter here in the Chicago suburban area, with snow and frozen ground for long periods. Even so, we’ve had enough warm weather lately that some of the ground is thawing, and there’s no remaining snow on the ground. So what’s with the worms?

I went out at around 11:00pm, and the rain had stopped. And there were hundred and hundreds of worms on the pavement! Everywhere! They were standard nightcrawlers and red worms, all stretched out straight because they were so wet. Totally amazing!

I’m thinking this is an omen. The Fates are telling me that this year is going to be a fabulous one for fishing! And in case any of you believe in that stupid “catch and release” nonsense, fuggeddaboudditt! We eat the fish we catch!

As I walked along, trying not to step on the worms, I was thinking about the last time something bizarre happened like this. It was probably 25 years ago, and I was driving home from work at a local club. I’m thinking it was probably around two in the morning, and it also was just after a rain shower.

There were thousands upon thousands for FROGS, for cryin’ outloud, all over the roads! I’d never seen anything like that in my entire life! No way to avoid driving over them, and it was a bit slick. Had to watch out I didn’t skid off the road. But it was astounding!

So it’s either an omen for good fishing, or a sign that the end of the world is approaching!

Of course today, most of the worms were gone. Some were dried out and dead, and I’m supposing the birds got a lot of those that didn’t make it back into the ground. We have a community of Section-8 birds living in a bush, right on the main grassy area out front of the apartment complex. They’ve been there all winter, through ice and snow, sun and rain.

I suppose those birds figured it was feast time! They mostly hang out in this one big bush-looking kind of semi-tree. And they’re always talking! I can’t understand a damn thing they’re saying, but I noticed they weren’t all that loud today when I went out. On the other hand, I forgot to check to see if they were so fat they’d fallen out of the bush onto the ground. Probably stuffed.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

