Punchinello’s Chronicles

October 24, 2008

Love 21st Century Style

Filed under: View from the Bottom — Punchinello @ 2:59 am
Tags:

“Romeo, oh Romeo, I love you so. Has anyone but us ever had such a love? Has anyone ever before felt so filled with love and life?”

“Ah, fair Juliet, I can’t say. I know only that I’ve never felt like this before with anyone. Well, there was that one girl in high school, but nevermind her, it’s you I love!”

“But Romeo, oh Romeo, I’m so worried. I want so to be married, to have a family, children playing in the yard, and an SUV, with neighborhood moms all helping get our children to soccer games. Will you ever forsake me?”

“Ah, Juliet my love, I too want a family, children, a fine McMansion in the suburbs, and a career that satisfies me. We should get married as soon as we can, don’t you think?”

“Romeo, now that you mention it, I too want a career that satisifes me. But what if my company moves across the country? Will you remain true? Will you forsake me?”

“Juliet, sweet Juliet, you worry so much! Our love is like the stones in my grandfather’s gallbladder; immeasurable, uncountable, and lasting forever. We shine across the heavens with our love, much like a wireless connection between whatever corporate locations where we’ll end up working. Let’s get married and start a family!”

“Oh Romeo, my Romeo, I only worry that someday you’ll foresake me, perhaps for a 20 yearold secretary or fitness instructor, and I’ll be left to wither on the vine of lost romance. How can I know you won’t forsake me, and that our love will last forever?”

“Juliet, my loveliest of all Juliets, I shall not forsake you. With the economy as it is today, can you imagine how much it would cost to double everything? We would need two SUVs, two homes, clothes in two locations for court-approved visitations, and everything else. There would be bills and upkeep on two homes, and we simply couldn’t afford it.”

“Ah…Romeo, my love. Kiss me! Sweep me off my feet! Take me in your arms. I’m yours!”

2 Comments »

  1. I seriously think you should write a book. You are prolific and the quality of the writing is generally good. Anyhow, I nearly split a seam reading your comments above. Its so true!

    What I can’t help but find ironic is that when you talk to people today, you get this sense that everyone is somehow desperately clinging to this romantic, outdated, 1950’s suburban paradise, where a cocker spaniel is in every white picket fence yard, children can walk unabated in perfect safety to their grad-A schools, and that Daddy can go off and earn the bacon while Mommy hangs out at the PTA on Wednesday.

    Such dreams I suppose are legitimate. But trying to make it happen is more than likely disadvantageous to most Americans. The truth is that the 1950’s nuclear family lifestyle so many people aspire to is now something that can only be obtained by the super-rich. I work within such an area and its ironic. It is out in Palo Alto, CA- the heart of Silicon Valley. This was at one time a far-flung suburb of SF. Now its the richest area in the country. The irony is that most of the houses are the same: small rancher homes. But they all cost about a million bucks. So here you have rich people make-believing that they’re back in leave it to beaver land.

    People are so desperate to have this lifestyle that they sometimes move across country. A good example is where my folks live in Tennessee. The area was at one time mostly rural. Now just about every other former field is full of massive Mcmansions- all filled with mainly people from the East and West Coasts, who moved here because it was “cheap” but often times find that what they get is a huge vanilla colored house out in the middle of nowhere with a big ugly freeway next door that leads mostly to more generic stuff like Wal-Mart and Home Depot.

    What these people fail to recognize is that it is much easier to do with less. In many cases, doing so actually leads to more stability and comfort. Me and my wife do well, but we rent a small home, drive older cars, buy furniture and clothes from the Salvation Army store, and rarely eat out. Yet we have stability and plans for a future to move out of this expensive state and buy not a Mcmansion- but a small, modest, manageable home elsewhere.

    I hope that the housing crash makes Mcmansions and the generic lifestyle they come with obsolete.

    Comment by bob — October 24, 2008 @ 10:01 am | Reply

  2. Well, at least it’s making divorces less attractive.

    Comment by Punchinello — October 24, 2008 @ 2:25 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

