Punchinello’s Chronicles

October 13, 2008

Keep Doing What You’re Doing

Filed under: Just Thinking — Punchinello @ 6:48 pm
Tags: , , ,

I don’t much agree with the basic philosophy of Alcoholics Anonymous (AA), but they do have a fine turn of phrase in some of their writings. One that I like is, “Keep doing what you’re doing and you’ll keep getting what you’re getting.” That’s an excellent statement: Actions have Consequences.

Everywhere I look, lately, I keep running into people saying the same things:

  • I wish I could buy a better car.
  • I wish I didn’t have so many bills
  • My kids are making me nuts. Why can’t they get along?
  • I hate my job. I wish I could find something I like.
  • How come I can’t find a nice guy (or girl)?

All this begins with a wish that life was different. Being that I talk a lot and enjoy conversation, I end up getting into some sort of discussion with these folks. “So why don’t you buy a nicer car?” I’ll ask them.

What almost always happens is that we get into an increasingly long list of why these people want to very specifically do exactly what they’re doing. They don’t want to change a single thing at all, but they want to complain about the fact that it isn’t working.

Want to buy a house? Buy one. If it isn’t affordable, move to someplace where it is. Can’t move because of your job? Get another job. Don’t want another job? Ah Hah!…then you really don’t want a house.

“I like what I’m doing, I just wish it would work the way I want it to work.”

Lots of people nowadays like to use as a definition of insanity: Repeating the same set of actions expecting a different outcome.

If things aren’t working the way you wish they should work, then in many cases (not all) it’s part of a failed process. Change the damn process! Don’t argue that the process should work in theory, ought to work because you feel it ought to! Just accept that what you’re doing isn’t working and isn’t going to work. Get on with it!

Nah, most people won’t do that. I’m not sure why so many of us fall in love with a process. It’s a mystery.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

