Punchinello’s Chronicles

October 8, 2008

It’s All the President’s Fault!

Ask yourself, are you better off today than you were four years ago?

What kind of a stupid-ass question is that! It worked the first time it ever was used, a clever marketing and campaigning slogan, but it’s still a stupid question!

I’m a whole lot better off today than I was a year ago. But I’m a whole lot worse off than I was five years ago. What changed? Life circumstances, my decisions, my age, actions I took, people I trusted, friends I’ve made, where I live, what job skills I have, and just about everything else I chose to do in my life.

Presidents have come and gone, and my life has changed in no directly related way whatsoever. Islamist fundamentalists blew up the World Trade Center, killing 3,000 American citizens, and my life changed. Bankers and accountants wrecked the financial system and my life changed. I got older and my hair decided to live in my nose, bored with living on my head. My life changed.

None of this has any bearing at all on the President of the United States. What we as a nation did about these events, that’s different. But no matter what the President did or didn’t want to do, it affected me only peripherally. Now if you want to talk about Congress, and the everyday changes to each single law, that’s a whole different story!

Ah, but in a culture where nobody can act for themselves, then someone else must be causing life changes. The problem is that in America, everyone can act for themselves. In order to give someone the power to run everything, and the power to control everyone’s life, there have to be some changes.

The first change is to arbitrarily state that no matter what people do, their actions have no connection with the results. To accomplish this, legal cases, judges, news reporters and politicians all have to get on the same bandwagon. Everyone has to “prove” that no matter what you do, there isn’t anything at all you can do about life, pain, problems, changes, consequences, results.

Therefore: You can’t be responsible for anything since you obviously have no control over anything.

The next person who asks whether or not I’m better off than I was last year, last month, last week, last decade, I’m gonna tell them I absolutely am! Let them first tell me by what standard they want me to measure? According to what standard?

2 Comments »

  1. Are you getting my responses because none have been posted. So I’ll keep this short. Yes- my life is better than it was 4 years ago. But in other ways, it has also been made more difficult. Mainly in that as a young couple, me and my Wife can’t afford a house where we live and secondly- the stock market is imploding, which will more than likely affect my employment situation.I blame this on greed, over speculation, and ignorance from a consumer perspective.

    But while I also agree you can’t blame the President directly, he is a figurehead for the Republican party, which as its main virtue is to limit Government control, so much so that even though it was obvious that financial institutions were clearly gambling with future paper wealth in a dangerous way, nothing was done to address the issue until the damage was already done. So yes- I blame the current administration for the current lack of stability in my life. The President had a choice of listening to warnings coming from various economic advisers and making a judgment call. But instead he let his staff muddle through it, which in itself suggests that the President is incompetent.

    Comment by bob — October 10, 2008 @ 12:18 pm | Reply

  2. I think what you’ll find when you examine the governmental process, is that it’s Congress (the House and Senate) who control that process. The President as head of the Republican party, can and does push an agenda. That agenda is presumably what the citizens want, based on their having elected the President.

    That being said, very little of what Mr. Bush wanted done has happened in just that way. For everything he’s had passed, Congress has exponentially added on and increased spending to the point of bankruptcy. The President can try to control or reduce spending, but only Congress can actually make it happen.

    Congress, in Democratic control, has essentially voted themselves a blank check. The regulations they voted to remove on the housing and banking idustry, kicked off the current collapse. The regulations they removed and the new opportunities they created in the investment industry are now working perfectly. All Democrat ideas, laws, regulations, and de-regulations.

    Comment by Punchinello — October 10, 2008 @ 2:25 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

